News 2011

admin2011, News

  • Brooke Johnson accepted a tenure track position in the Department of Sociology in Northeastern Illinois University. Congrats!
  • Annebelle Nery accepted a full-time position as Dean of Admissions at the College of the Desert. Congrats!
  • Ian Breckenridge-Jackson received a research grant from the UC Center for New Racial Studies. Congrats!
  • Jonathan Turner was elected chair of the ASA section on Biology, Evolution, and Society
  • Professor Katja Guenther’s research on how black immigrants from eastern Africa to the US negotiate race relations in America was featured on Sociology Lens and Contexts.
  • Professors Ellen Reese and Vanessa Estrada Awarded CHASS Research grant for “Understanding the Human Impacts of Housing Foreclosure: An Interdisciplinary Exploration of Economic, Social, and Political Inequality” with Gary Dymski (Economics), Martin Johnson (Political Science), and Tyler Stallings (Culver Center of the Arts/Sweeney Art Gallery)
  • Professor Karen Pyke was elected Vice-President, Pacific Sociological Association, 2011
  • Professor Jan Stets was awarded a research grant from the UCR Chancelleor’s Strategic Investment Fund.
  • Professor Jan Stets was elected Chair-Elect, American Sociological Association Social Psychology Section
  • Professor David Swanson received a research grant for his project on “Socio-Economic Status, Race, and Life Expectancy in Los Angeles County, 1970-1990: A Proof of Concept Proposal from the College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences, University of California (Principal Investigator).
  • Professor David Swanson received a research grant for his “Forecast Accuracy Study” from the ESRI
  • Professor David Swanson was elected Member, Development Committee, Population Association of America.